A Period of Brunches

Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 7.10.12 PMMy favorite meal is brunch. I could eat breakfast food morning, afternoon, or evening. My schedule is either super busy or super quiet and so during the times where I am in between projects and with lots of time to spare, I meet up with my friends for brunch. I am pretty much a one-person brunch club. This post consists of my recent (and not so recent) brunch trips.

Above – Pannekoek with Grilled Sausage, Edam Cheese, Spinach, Tomato, Fried Egg and Hollandaise. A long while back I met up with Ping and talk shop regarding her (then) upcoming nuptials. This little breakfast joint is so cute and always reminds me of my trip to Amsterdam. And with a menu so large, I can’t wait to go back.

Dutch Wooden Shoe Cafe – 3292 Cambie St
Dutch Wooden Shoe Cafe on Urbanspoon

Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 7.01.39 PMAfter spending all my time working on a project and no time for any thing else, the first spare weekend I had, I meet up with Kathy for a day of shopping, eating and decompression. Pretty much all of our time together is spent eating. One of my go-to places to brunch is El Camino’s. I love the Latin twist on one of my favorite kinds of meals.

Above – Eggs Benedict with Chorizo, Tomato and Guacamole on an English Muffin

El Camino’s3250 Main St, Vancouver, BC
El Camino's on Urbanspoon

Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 7.47.50 PMSometimes, when I am sitting at church, I don’t pay attention to the service. A lot of the time, I’m thinking about what I should eat for lunch. And as much as I shouldn’t admit it, this is often the case when I visit Le Marche St. Georges because its convenient location to the church attend. I love coming here when the weather is beautiful. Although there isn’t a lot of dining space and no formal patio, it has a lovely outdoor space perfect for people watching.

Above, a savory crepe consisting of Smoked Turkey, Brie and Figs. I love savory crepes, they are indeed underrated in comparison to its sweet counterpart.

Le Marche St. Georges 4393 St. George Street, Vancouver BC
Le Marché St. George on Urbanspoon

mamitaylorsAnother reason to brunch? Typically, it involves catching up with a friend after I return home from a trip. Such was the case when I met up with Emily for a round of breakfast at Mami Taylor’s. Southern inspired food in Chinatown? Who would have thought. Here, our breakfast date turned into a 3 hour catch up – the best kinds of dates.

While Emily dined on the Kentucky Hot Brown (Smoked Confit Turkey, Mornay, Bacon, Sourdough Toast, and Home Fries), I enjoyed the Poblano Chilli and Goat Cheese Egg Benny.

Mami Taylor’s 251 East Georgia St., Vancouver, BC
Mamie Taylor's on Urbanspoon

yolksAnd lastly, my most recent brunch took place at Yolk’s where I met up with Laura who always gives me the best encouragement and support. The neat thing about Yolk’s is that while there are set menu items such as the Chicken and Waffles (right), they also offer diners the ability to customize their egg sammies. Can’t finish two? Get one…who are we kidding, I can eat the two.  Left – Portobello Mushroom Egg Sandwich with Aioli, Arugula accompanied with Lemon Truffle Oil Hash Browns and a side of Avocado. Always a side of Avocado.

Yolk’s Breakfast and Commissionary1298 E Hastings St, Vancouver, BC
Yolk's Breakfast Restaurant and Commissary on Urbanspoon

Yes, I love brunch…but even more, I love the company I dine with. Happy eating, happy brunching!

