Hong Kong 2014 Pt 2

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 presetAfter a week in the Philippines, I returned back to Hong Kong on my own as my travel companions made their way back to Vancouver.  Originally, I had planned to spend the last part of my trip with my grandma. Unfortunately, upon my return to Hong Kong, I found out she had been hospitalized and would remain so for the rest of my stay. Though I was able to visit her daily, my time spent with her was dramatically cut and as a result, a large part of my day was spent wandering around Hong Kong, sometimes with friends and sometimes alone.

photo-9

But despite being in the hospital, my Grandma would continue to worry if I ate enough, seen enough, or shopped enough. She spent most of her time nagging my uncles about taking me out for dinner. On one occasion, I accompanied my uncle to one of Kowloon City’s famed wet markets for dinner.  Above the markets is an open food court best known for its Thai food. It’s a cacophony of sounds, smells and sights. If you aren’t shy about eating in places that are perhaps not so clean and not so fancy, but pretty authentic and delicious, I recommend trying the restaurants that are just slightly off the beaten path.

The last leg of my trip wasn’t exactly how I envisioned but I was thankful that I got to spend quality time with some people whom I haven’t had the chance to regularly see. From a friend who moved half way across the world from me, to family who I speak to sporadically through the years, I am grateful for this quality time of genuine, authentic relationship building. I was able to spend individual time with both my uncles doing the same things that I would enjoy back home. Whether it was perusing the city for good eats or sitting at home chatting over a glass of wine, I begun to understand the experiences that shape who I am, and perhaps the characteristics and behaviours that I inherit and embody today.

It usually takes me a few months to collect my thoughts and write about the adventures I go experience. When I had planned to write this post and when I had visited,  Hong Kong was perhaps seen by outsiders as a different city. Despite its recent struggles, Hong Kong is a beautiful city, with passionate people. It is a city that encourages the exploration and discovery of some wonderful gems hidden in the most unlikely of places.

For more information about Hong Kong and its current state of affairs, I’d recommend checking out some of these articles below:

The Guardian
Vox

 

